News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Sound-decoder for 2-4-2 91199

Started by petervweimer, October 25, 2014, 10:36:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

petervweimer

Hi from Germany,
I have a new 2-4-2T in the green/black version (91199) on order. As I plan to install sound my question is if anyone has experience with the sound-decoders from ESU (54400) and/or Uhlenbrock (36320) in these locos. I am interested in the way they may be installed (only plug in the NEM652 or is any additional soldering e.g. to the factory-installed speaker to be done?) and in the quality of the sound, especially if the volume is sufficient for the size of the loco? Any experience is welcome.
Regards
Peter   

Loco Bill Canelos

Hi Peter,

I just noticed there have been no responses to your questions. I suspect itt is because most of our members are not familiar with the decoders you mentioned.  I wish I could help, but I have no experience at all with DCC so I am bumping this back to the top in the hopes  one our our members with DCC could be at least of some help or have alternate ideas.

Best wishes

Bill

Loco Bill,  Roundhouse Foreman
Colorado & Kansas Railway-Missouri Western Railway
Official Historian; Bachmann Large Scale
Colorado RR Museum-Brakeman-Engineer-Motorman-Trainman
There are no dumb or stupid questions, just questions!

Kevin Strong

I can't find an on-line manual for the 2-4-2, but the product description says "ready to be equipped with your choice of DCC decoder." From that, I'd presume it to have the NMRA-standard 8-pin connector somewhere onboard. I looked up the review in Garden Railways (October '11), but it made no mention of what form any kind of socket might take. It does say the instructions include how to wire it for DCC. The loco is too small for it to have the standard "large scale" socket, and Bachmann's other "DCC-ready" locos gravitate towards the 8-pin interface.