Bachmann models extra detail parts

Started by iamthedoctornotwho, November 10, 2014, 12:59:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

iamthedoctornotwho

Hi
Sorry if this is a naïve question but I am pretty new to the hobby.  I have just purchased a Bachmann steam engine (British Rail Patriot class Royal Signals) which came with a bag of small plastic parts to add detail to the model.  Do these need to be glued on or should they 'snap' fit? If they require gluing, which type of glue do you recommend? Thanks in advance. Carl

Doneldon

Carl-

It depends. Some detail parts snap into place but others need some glue. You can pretty much tell which technique you need by test fitting things. It's rarely a problem to use glue when it isn't truly needed as long as the glue is used sparingly and with care.

As for type of glue, I recommend one of the liquid glues designed for styrene as that's the material which is most frequently encountered. Their bottles often have a small brush attached to the cap but it will be too big for tiny parts. For that you might want to try a piece of thin but stiff wire or a tiny paint brush. (Make sure the brush has real bristles; liquid glues will melt some of the synthetics.) Better yet is a tool with two pieces of tiny piano wire held closely together. They will pick up the liquid and put it where you need it as long as you work quickly because these glues dry very fast. You can easily make one of these if you can't locate one at a hobby or craft store. Testors liquid glue has a tiny stainless steel tube for an applicator. This works very well but practice a little before getting it near things you value. The tube is so tiny that even a gentle squeeze can burp out more than you want, potentially damaging your model.