News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Which scale to choose

Started by dhirajkarmalkar, December 27, 2014, 09:27:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dhirajkarmalkar

Dear all.

I am new to the model train set, but I always wanted to build one from child hood.

I am confused to start with HO Scale or N Scale. I really appreciate if get guidance on this one.

I have got N scale thunder valley train set but it tricky to keep it running. I tried finding more on internet but seems like very limited options available on this scale compared to HO Scale.

Thank you.

With best regards,
Dhiraj

Piyer

Hi Dhiraj,

Yes, there are fewer offerings in N-scale than in HO, but there is definitely enough out there so as to not totally cripple us N-scalers.  ;)

Factors in choosing one scale over another include how much you can afford to spend, how much space you have, and what type of model railroad interests you - some scales are better suited to certain things than other scales are due to, in part, equipment availability.

Starter sets are an... *ahem* economic way of entering the hobby, but, ironically, they don't always present the best impression of reliability to the beginner. N-scale equipment can be as reliable as HO or O scales. Reaching and maintaining that reliability is one of the skill sets that you'll learn as a model railroader. It's truly part of the fun of model railroading.

So... if you'd kindly tell us a little bit more about what space you have available, what interests you about model railroading - or railroads in general, and what skills you have - can you build a piece of furniture from scratch, or are you more the type that ends up in the emergency room every time you try to hammer a nail in the wall?  ;D  The more we know about you, the easier it is for us to offer suggestions.
~AJ Kleipass~
Proto-freelance modeling the Tri-State System c.1942
The layout is based upon the operations of the Delaware Valley Railway,