News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Turnouts

Started by bsulzbach, December 30, 2014, 08:13:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bsulzbach

Hi guy's, i am new to the sight and also to model railroading. I am starting out with n scale and i want to use manual ground throw turnouts and i can't find them anywhere, does anyone have any suggestions.
Thanks,

Desertdweller

I don't think you will find any.  Probably the best way to go about this would be to buy some non-powered turnouts (pre-EZ-Trak Bachmann, Atlas, or similar).  These come with a manual mechanism that is like a solenoid switch machine without the motor inside.  Take this device off (it is held to the ties with screws).
The switch machine engages the switch throw bar (the part that moves the points) with a pin that moves back and forth.

There are ground throw mechanisms available.  I think Caboose Hobbies makes them.  You need to mount them so the pin on the moving part engages the throw bar.

If you are using roadbed, you will need to put some under the ground throw to raise it to the same height as the switch.  By using layers of cork or foam roadbed, you can also raise the switch so it will work with EZ-Trak for the rest of your track.

Les

Albert in N

For ground throw turnout controls, use Caboose Industries (cabooseind.com, per page 31 of January 2015 Model Railroader; ad even has photos).  Many hobby shops carry these.  On earlier N layouts, I used Atlas track with Atlas manual turnouts controlled by Caboose Industries standard ground-throws.  They lasted for years until I got lazy and went to electric turnouts.  Caboose Hobbies (CabooseHobbies.com) probably also carries them.  The ground throws would also work with other track brands.  I remember train shows having N "time saver" small switching layouts using the ground throws.  Actually, they were fun; but I was younger and more energetic then. 

bsulzbach