News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Identify Bachmann diesel

Started by rsmjr, January 07, 2015, 12:04:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rsmjr

Hi,
This is my first post. Like a number of members, I'm relatively new to this, although my N gauge set(s) are almost 30 years old! (I had a British set-up when we were in England.) But this question is about one of my American diesels: It's a Bachmann Conrail diesel, number 2956. Does anyone know what it is, or how old? I really liked it, but it quit running - smoke curling from the motor, and such ...
Thanks!

RGW

ACY

Your locomotive is designated as a General Electric U33B class, it was last produced in the 1970's. There are no parts available for this engine and it would not be replaceable at all. It is almost 50 years old probably.
Options for replacement in the same livery include:

The GP40

or the GE Dash 8-40C

The GP-40 is currently in production and readily available from most shops while the Dash 8-40C was in production fairly recently and may still be available in a few shops still.

rsmjr

Thanks for the help! I have been trying to send a very low-res photo (80 KB) of my loco, but the Forum says "the uploader is full" and I should try a smaller file. Smaller than 80KB? Really? Is there an administrator who can help, please?

ACY

Quote from: rsmjr on January 07, 2015, 02:09:51 PM
Thanks for the help! I have been trying to send a very low-res photo (80 KB) of my loco, but the Forum says "the uploader is full" and I should try a smaller file. Smaller than 80KB? Really? Is there an administrator who can help, please?
You cannot upload photos to the forum, it has been this way as far back as I can remember (over 10 years ago). You must upload your photo to a site like photobucket first and then link it here. You cannot upload photos or files directly to the forum.
Also I know what your locomotive looks like, uploading a photo won't make a difference for anything.