Bachmann n scale track grey bed absolutely necessary?

Started by trainstrainstrains, May 31, 2015, 11:05:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

trainstrainstrains

As you will see from my worries I am a total newbie to n scale. I just ordered a fair amount of BACHMANN NICKEL SILVER EZ TRACK on grey bed. It appears it is only sold with the grey bed. I would prefer not to use any track bed at all. Have I wasted money on the grey bed? Is the grey bed glued to the track or just on it? Must I use it?

spookshow

The plastic roadbed provides the rigidity and connectivity that allows one to reliably run trains on the track. There are plenty of other brands of track that don't come with built-in roadbed, but that sort of track requires that it be glued/nailed in place (otherwise it moves around, the rail joiners come loose, etc).

Products like Bachmann EZ Track, Kato Unitrack and Atlas True Track are designed for people who want to quickly get to the "let's run some trains" stage of the game (and not have to deal with gluing down roadbed and track, soldering rail joins, etc). That's why it's a popular inclusion in trainsets.

I've never used EZ Track, but if it's anything like Unitrack, the ties are going to be part of the plastic casting that includes the roadbed (and with the rails then clipped to the ties). So, no, you couldn't really separate the two.

Cheers,
-Mark

brokemoto

You can not separate the track from the roadbed on the EZTRAK without damaging one, the other, or both.

As far as I am aware, the only track that B-mann sells these days is the EZTRAK.   If you go to shows you will see some vendors' selling older B-mann sectional track without the roadbed, but that stuff is long out of production.   You might even see some NOS at some hobby stores, as well.   Some might even sell it online or on sites such as FeePay, Etsy and others.