GP 40 Union Pacific has no unit number DC to turn into DCC

Started by Brett1972, June 09, 2015, 04:40:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brett1972

Hi, I'm new at this. I just got a old Bachmann HO scale GP 40 Union Pacific train (it has no UP # on the side of it-but best number I could find to close match the details of this shell is a UP #1481-a mother unit?), im sure it is a DC unit with a circit board number H635X+PCB02A.PCB (or Bachmann part number H63521),

I would love to convert to DCC and if possible to a sound unit as well but all else if only DCC thats fine.. I tried to find a compatable board like say from TCS but with no luck.

My question is what Bachmann circit board or number I can use to purchase a DCC version of this H635X+PCB02A.PCB DC version board to at least run with DCC if not with a DCC sound too?? Im also looking for a price so I can order. it be great thanks and hope to hear a reply soon.

Thanks again,

Brett ( I highly lover of my Bachmann Spectrum 4-8-2 light Mountain train since its purchase of 1998)

richardl

This should be in the HO forum but it will be moved.

Here is a link to the SoundTraxx forum. I can only recommend SoundTraxx as that is what Bachmann uses.

Bachmann does not sell sound decoders.

It is a PC board type decoder as you probably know. The instructions come with the decoder. I have installed some in other brands of diesels.

You have to replace the PC board. SoundTraxx also sells a non sound decoder.
Either way, this will be a hard wire project.
Most diesels have the speaker in the oil tank. Probably have to drill holes.
Bit of a challenge if new to DCC.

http://www.bachmanntrains.com/home-usa/board/index.php?action=post;topic=30309.0;num_replies=0

In a search, a few have used a TSU-1000, a shrink wrapped decoder.

Others will comment.

Rich

ACY