News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Newbie question

Started by crb, September 14, 2015, 09:19:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

crb

Please be kind, I have become obsessed with the concept of garden railroading and have purchased my first ever train.  I have ordered some brass track and am waiting for more pieces to arrive.  My question is this.....what type of screwdriver/wrench do I need to screw the track pieces together?  Is there a special one that is sold somewhere?  Remember....be kind....I'm new and a total novice.  :)
Chris :)
Train newbie, faerie garden oldie

Hunt

For Bachmann large scale brass track a 2mm allen wrench is needed to install the hex screws in the rail joiners.

crb

Thank you, hunt!  I don't own any allen wrenches and wondered if that might be what I needed, but wasn't sure.  I assumed if something special was needed, the track pieces would come with it, but one never knows.  I will (im)patiently await the arrival of the UPS man with goodies.  :)

Loco Bill Canelos

CRB,

First let me say welcome to a fun hobby, and remember there are no dumb questions, just questions!!   Always feel free to ask questions here on the Bachmann forum.  There are many great members here who will be able to help you enjoy your new hobby!! 

When I bought my track new in boxes, each box came with the little allen screwdriver needed to connect the pieces.  When I bought new switches, each box came with them as well.  The little track screws were sealed in wax underneath one of the ties, which was something else I did not know when I first started.

Again welcome and have fun.

Loco Bill
Loco Bill,  Roundhouse Foreman
Colorado & Kansas Railway-Missouri Western Railway
Official Historian; Bachmann Large Scale
Colorado RR Museum-Brakeman-Engineer-Motorman-Trainman
There are no dumb or stupid questions, just questions!

crb