News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Help with layout

Started by passport_7777, November 13, 2015, 04:33:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

passport_7777

Hi-

I have zero experience with model railroading, but recently decided I wanted to add a train to my Christmas village.  The Rail Chief set is my top choice right now because it reminds me of the BNSF trains that run here in Washington. It is also a good price point for me, as I do not need anything fancy for what I am doing.

The track that comes with the set is 47"x38" which will not work for the space I am putting it in.  I have no problem purchasing additional track pieces, but I am beyond confused as to which ones I would need. The length is pretty obvious to me, but I am unsure on which radius pieces I would need for the ends.

The space I will be working with is 26"x5ft long. If it is a little bit narrower or longer (I technically have 8ft to work with), that is fine with me.  I am not too picky. Can anyone tell me which track pieces I will need?

I'm very serious about doing this as soon as I can. We are very into the holidays, so I would love to get it setup!

Any information you could provide would be greatly appreciated!

Thank You in advance for your time.

jbrock27

Hmmm, you could be up against it my friend if you are set on using sectional, roadbed track and that loco that comes with the set. I imagine the set comes with 18"R curved sections?  To use those and make a half circle, you need to use 6 of them and need to have 42" of space to work with.  I don't know if using 15"R curves gets you around that problem; or if Bachmann sells them and if they did, I don't know how your GP40 would look running on them and more importantly, effectively run on 15"R curves.