News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

wonderland flyer help

Started by ad_man21, December 20, 2015, 01:24:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ad_man21

Hi guys,

I am new to trains and got the wonderland flyer g scale for my christmas tree, I just had some questions, it was running fine and now is making a squeaking sound and I don't know why. Also for lubes what do I buy? Where I am I can't find the bachmann easy lubes.

Thanks in advance!

Chuck N

A couple of questions.  Are you using the 4' diameter track that came with the set?  Do the wheels squeak all the time or just on the curves?  Try running the engine by its self and then add one car at a time. Maybe you can isolate the source of the squeak.

The 4' diameter curves are very tight.  The train will run through those curves, but they aren't happy travelers.  Squeak only in the curves is usually the metal wheels on the engine grinding the rail head in the inside of the outside rail.  A small dab of graphite paste on the inside of the outside rail where the track enters the curve from the straight section might help, or any conducting lubricant should work.  I wouldn't recommend graphite if your layout is on a light colored carpet. 

If it squeaks all the time, a drop of plastic compatable light oil in each journal will help.  You could also use graphite power, just don't use too much.

Chuck

RkyGriz