Bachmann Spectrum HO 4-4-0 Southern Green Loco 83406

Started by Warflight, March 10, 2017, 06:12:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Warflight

So... Newbie here (well, I was collecting back in the 80s, but ex wife sold, or destroyed all of my trains early on, but I'm getting back into the hobby once again)

But that's not what I'm here to ask. I just recently acquired a Bachmann Spectrum HO 4-4-0 Southern Green Loco 83406.

It says it is DCC equipped, and to be honest, I haven't a clue what any of that means. Do I need a special controller? Does that mean really cool sound effects and the like? WHAT HAVE I DONE!!!! <panic>

Anyway... so, I did like any normal person, and after the impulse buy, I decided to look up this beauty (it's "old/new" stock... still sealed) and to my surprise, I cannot seem to find any information at all about this engine 9discontinued, I should think, but when?)

Anyhoo... if anyone has any information they would like to share, about what the DCC entails, or any technical information on this engine, I would be much obliged.

Oh, and for those curious... I paid $100, and free shipping from a comic shop, and I ALMOST feel a bit guilty over that after looking them up on eBay.

ACY

You do not need a special controller, the decoder is dual-mode so it will also operate on analog DC. It will not have any sound however. The going rate for the model is actually about $80 or so by the way.
DCC is digital command control, a DCC controller (system) varies in cost from $100 to upwards of $500 depending on capabilities. DCC allows you to control multiple DCC equipped locomotives at a time without necessitating the use of block wiring. It also allows you to potentially program CVs (to adjust the settings so to speak) and to toggle sound effects such as a bell, horn or whistle or dim the lights etc.