News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

N Scale DoodleBug. Lights on no power

Started by Jimbo46, June 10, 2017, 10:18:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jimbo46

I have a new N scale DoodleBug that I have only run a brief amount of time. It just suddenly stopped. Lights are on but no drive power. I'm new to this and not sure what I should check or do. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

spookshow

Is it the more recent DCC-equipped version or the old analog version?

-Mark

spookshow

First thing I would do is try a decoder reset (write 8 to CV8). If that doesn't fix things, I'd check the wiring between the decoder board and the motor for a loose connection. Hopefully the motor itself didn't die, but that's always a possibility too (in which case I would just send the whole thing back to Bachmann for replacement).

-Mark

Hudspethtb

I have the same problem, again a low usage Doodlebug. I think it's an older DC version, Part #: 81456, but I'm not sure. If it's DCC I got a steal! Anyway, the lights come on, but no movement, not even a buzz. I got it at a train show from an old dealer who had a store, but went out of business and was selling all his stuff fairly cheap at the show. He said the Doodlebug spent most of its life on a shelf, never really run. Any advice?

kmcsjr

Don't let price fool you. These have been selling for pretty low prices with DCC. Its a beautiful model, but an almost beautiful runner. If you you have rapidity couplers it's old, but I bet you have a newer one. Open it and look. I've got a replacement decoder ready, for after my latest trip. It would be nice, if they redid it, with a great drive system. Spookshows advice holds, if you have a warranty. If not, I'm not sure what parts are available, or if it isn't cheaper to google the model and buy a new one. Figure which model you have and go from there.

brokemoto