News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Drag brakes and Kadee couplers

Started by genetk44, May 21, 2017, 03:10:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

genetk44

Dave2744 and I started to accidentally side-track the the 44-Tonner split-axle thread into a discussion about drag brakes and how they could improve the coupling action of Kadee couplers. So we decided that we would start a new thread here to not completely derail the original discussion.

Dave...I have been using the Kadee whisker couplers for a couple of years now, especially the " scale" ones, #s 156 and 158 in particuler. And yes at times they do seem to not want to couple, usually from not being centred. I sometimes think that the whisker springs just aren't strong enough, at other times it seems like the original coupler box just isnt big enough for the Kadee coupler. So I usually end up filing both the coupler box lid,the coupler shank and adding some graphite lube to try and get things moving...sometimes it works and sometimes it only works up to a point...can be frustrating.

Plus...any chance of a pic of one of your drag brake installs on a car??

Cheers
Gene

DAVE2744

Gene-I noticed the "scale" coupler, aside from the centering issue, sometimes does not let the face of the
moveable piece to slide along the face of the approaching coupler.  I have tried "burnishing" the surface
with hardwood stick.  Seemed to help somewhat.

I decided to stick with the "standard" size knuckles. more forgiving on the centering issue, and height, and
just about everything else.  Like I said, I'm not real picky about close to scale issues.

I noticed that where the metal has been "upset" to attach the whisker wire to the shank there is sometimes
an increase in the thickness of the shank at that point.  Check yours with a mic or vernier. This might be the
cause of the whisker springs not being able to move the shank into centered position.  I also noticed that