News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Are all HOs the same?

Started by HippyChik, December 15, 2007, 11:42:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

HippyChik

Hello everyone,

I'm new to train collecting and am wondering... are all HO scale trains/tracks/sets the same? For example, would Bachmann tracks work with a Lionel train and vice versa?

I appreciate your help.

Kerry

rogertra

Short answer "Yes".

But there are lots of variations in standards ranging from toy train junk to semi-scale that works like a Swiss watch.  Far too much to discuss here, you'll need to do some reading.

Guilford Guy

Well, Lionel O gauge trains won't run on Bachmann HO track.
Alex

rogertra

Quote from: Guilford Guy on December 16, 2007, 12:09:43 AM

The question was "Are all HOs the same?"

Didn't mention O scale.

HippyChik

Hi and thanks for your reply... are there any reliable sites out there where I could learn more? I don't even know where to start and am afraid to just Google something because I know a lot of wrong info exists...

Thanks for your help.  :)

Quote from: rogertra on December 16, 2007, 12:02:05 AM
Short answer "Yes".

But there are lots of variations in standards ranging from toy train junk to semi-scale that works like a Swiss watch.  Far too much to discuss here, you'll need to do some reading.

Guilford Guy

Quote from: rogertra on December 16, 2007, 02:52:46 AM

The question was "Are all HOs the same?"

Didn't mention O scale.
She mentioned Lionel, and while they did do HO for a short time they are more known for their O gauge.
Alex

Rangerover