News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

New 2-8-0 Consolidation

Started by TZX200, December 11, 2007, 12:43:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TZX200

Hello,
I just got a new Bachmann Spectrum 2-8-0 Consolidation HO Scale #83605 and was directed to this forum to get, hopefully an answer to a couple of questions I have from the Bach Man.
So here goes.
There isn't any kind of owners manual that came with it other than the standard DCC programming instructions and I was wondering is there any recommended method of a "breaking in" period for these?
And this last question may seem a bit silly.
In the box along with a set of dummy plugs was a small sealed plastic packet of what looks like ground up charcoal, which naturally is black in color, and I was wondering what this was. I don't believe it is some kind of moisture absorbant since it is sealed in plastic. Any ideas what it is? Or even if it is supposed to be in the box.
I'm new to the hobby as you can probably tell and appreciate any help I can get.
Thank you

ebtnut

Somewhere in the box (did it come sealed in clear cellophane?) should be an instruction sheet showing all of the parts and how they go together.  If you didn't get one, contact Bachmann to have them send you one.  The black material is used to represent scale coal in the tender.  The plastic casting does not provide a really good representation of actual coal.  If you wish to use it (and it isn't necessary if you don't mind the tender as is), apply some white glue to the top of the cast-in coal, sprinkle the material from the bag liberally over the glue, press down a bit with your finger to make sure the coal load sticks well, and let dry. 

taz-of-boyds

That's nice.  Kind-of like a bonus tank of gas in a new car...   ;D   :D 
Charles

TZX200

ebtnut,
Thanks for the reply. It makes perfect sense, that's exactly what it looks like.