News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Christmas street car

Started by Alvarinb, December 11, 2007, 07:37:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Alvarinb

Hi, i'm new to all this train modeling hobby. I recently bought a Large scale Christmas set that came with the christmas street car. When i watched the DVD i saw that the trolley went from one side to the other automatically... how can i do that?? what do i need to buy??

Also, (this may sound like a stupid question but...), i have the 46605A speed controller and i see there are two buttons on top, what are this for??

the Bach-man

Dear Al,
The only auto reverse streetcars we make are in On30 and HO.
However, Aristocraft makes a reversing circuit that will work.
Have fun!
the Bach-man

rperego

If you get the Aristocraft auto reversing unit, for less money you can get just the reversing unit and install your own diodes at the splits in the rail, rather than buying the unit where the splits are incorporated into the RR crossings.  Also, some of my cars didn't like going over the ART RR crossings.

Word of advice - if you're planning on a minimum of track beyond the splits in the rail, test for a given speed how far the trolly will slide before stopping.  The ART unit doesn't do a soft stop due to the design of the unit.  If you run it fairly fast, it will slide a fair distance before coming to a stop.  If you want a unit you might be happier with, check with Stan at www.stanstrains.com.  When I was at his place this summer I think I saw a unit than does a soft stop.  Also, because of how the ART unit works, the lights in the trolly go out when it stops - unrealistic - watch your step getting out in the dark :)