EZ Command Control + Non-Bachmann DCC Locomotives = Compatible?

Started by BrettYea, September 25, 2018, 05:29:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BrettYea

I'm seriously considering buying the Bachmann EZ Command Control, as I'm a total newbie to DCC and I hear that it's great for a beginner.
However, I'm wondering if all the normal DCC functions (sound, light, speed steps, etc) on another locomotive (say, from Walthers or Athearn) will work when running them with the EZ Command Control. Or do I have to specifically use Bachmann DCC equipped locomotives with it? Obviously this will impact my decision as to what DCC system to go with, my other option being Digitrax's Zephyr Xtra.

Thanks!

Sincerely,
Your "DCC Newbie" Canadian

Len

The EZ-Command is a nice system, but has some limitations reading CV's. You might want to look at the NCE Power Cab system, a full function entry level system. Unlike the Zephyr, add on throttles are identical to the basic unit throttle, so there's no learning curve to deal with if adding a throttle.

Len
If at first you don't succeed, throw it in the spare parts box.

richy

You can run other decoder equipped locos. Last I knew you cannot change any CV's. You can only change the loco number address, You cannot reset a decoder ot factory specs either.
The EZ Command is a starter system.
I had an old MRC2K and it was a starter system that did about the same. I had to upgrade to a better system. The Power Cab.

Rich

BrettYea

rbryce1

I started with the Bachmann EZ system, and did not like it.  Could not do anything except move engines and blow whistles.  Could not use standard CV's for locomotive numbering.