News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

South Pacific Coast Mogul No 81493

Started by tommygcbe, October 31, 2018, 10:34:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

tommygcbe

Hi, I am a complete newbie. Have acquired a lovely 81493 but with no instruction book.  Can anyone suggest how I can get one please. Many Thanks, Tom

RkyGriz

Follow this link to the parts page for he diagrams: https://estore.bachmanntrains.com/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=69_145&zenid=0662b3vrdhl366d7fkphdirlc4
You can also contact the parts and service department at :800-356-3910 between the hours of 8:30am to 4:00 pm to see if they have the instructional video for purchase. One other thing you can try is searching youtube.com to see if someone has posted the video. Those earlier locos came with a VHS tape enclosed with the package when new. My Spectrum South Pacific Cost 4-4-0 Centennial loco came with one(still sealed), so there should be one available for your 2-6-0.
That's about all I know. Maybe Loco Bill will chime in later with better info.
Later.
Andrew.

tommygcbe

Many thanks Andrew.  Very helpful. Regards, Tom

Loco Bill Canelos

Tom,

Regrettably I can't contribute much more than Andrew already noted.  There are some youtube videos that show how to lubricate other style Bachmann G Scalelocomotives, which are basically the same procedures as for yours.   You can still download the 2002 catalog https://resources.bachmanntrains.com/2002/2002_bachmann.pdf  and go to page 148 to see the advertised features. You will find some switches behind the  smokebox door.  There will be a polarity switch, and a switch to turn the smoke generator on and off.  If left on and allowed to burn up the oil it can burn out, so be sure to leave it in the off position unless you are adding smoke fluid.  If you are in to DCC it is DCC ready.

I searched here on the Bachmann site and found this old post which ma have some useful info: