Pacific Flyer 0-6-0 loco spins wheels on incline. Better traction suggestions?

Started by alexm, December 10, 2018, 11:31:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

alexm

Hello all,
Newbie here with a basic question as the title says...
I purchased a set of Pacific Flyer, some extra track and a pier set and I did a figure 8 with an overpass and the steam loco 0-6-0 is spinning wheels and stalls on the incline with anything more than the tender and the lightest car (red car) behind it. It works great on the level track, even with all cars. The incline is determined by the piers, one at each connection as per instructions. The pier set is a Bachmann Trains 14 PC. E-Z TRACK Graduated Pier Set. Any ideas on how to improve traction?
Thanks!

Len

Almost all of the commercially available pier sets create grades that are too steep, greater than 3%, for smaller locos. Even with traction tires, they often don't have the weight to keep from slipping with any cars attached.

There are a few options:

1. If you only plan to run small, light, locos, keep your layout relatively flat.

2. Replace the pier set with Woodland Scenics Inclined Risers. 2% would be best, 3% might work.
https://woodlandscenics.woodlandscenics.com/show/Item/RISERS/page/1

3. If you have the space, get another 14 piece pier set, and make your own intermediate risers to bring the grade incline down. Measure the height difference between adjacent piers, and divide that measurement by 2. Make shims equal to the resulting value, and place under one set of piers. Use unshimmed pier at the start of the grade, then alternate shimmed and unshimmed piers until you reach the elevation you want. You should end up with one set of the tallest piers left over.

4. If you want to use what you've got, get a heavier, 6-wheel, all wheel drive, diesel for a locomotive.

Len

If at first you don't succeed, throw it in the spare parts box.

rich1998

Hi alexm
Welcome.

What Len said is all part of model railroading.