G scale Night before christmas set - want whistle

Started by RBB, February 02, 2019, 02:06:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RBB

I just picked up a new 90037 G scale night before christmas set and want to add a whistle using track magnets. Since I am new at this I don't have any idea where to start. I did the google thing and can't find how to do this. Can anyone help ? thanks. Roger

Loco Bill Canelos

Hi Roger,

I don't know a a way to add just the whistle sound.   Most suppliers make add on sound boards that do the whistle sounds and a higher level chuff sound with air compressor sounds, blowdown sounds and many others.  The price range runs from about $100 up to $250 depending on the level of sophistication you want.

I would suggest you get an issue of Garden railways Magazine and check out the ads.  You could go to www.mylargescale.com or www.largescalecentral.com and check out the power and sound sections and ask this question on those sites. They have many expert folks who really know sound.

Hope this helps.

Loco Bill

Sorry I screwed up and repeated the my large scale when I meant to add largescale central so corrected above  Thanks to Homo Hablis for the correction,  Bill
Loco Bill,  Roundhouse Foreman
Colorado & Kansas Railway-Missouri Western Railway
Official Historian; Bachmann Large Scale
Colorado RR Museum-Brakeman-Engineer-Motorman-Trainman
There are no dumb or stupid questions, just questions!

RBB

Thank you ... appreciate your thoughts and help. I will check out the website.

Homo Habilis

I'd also suggest that you check out the forums at Large Scale Central.  It is a much more active site and many of the members that used to be on My Large Scale have migrated there.

edited:  now redundant that Bill corrected his post.

Waikiki968

Hi,