Bachmann Spectrum Clinchfield 2-8-0, won’t move

Started by Trainman13, May 25, 2019, 01:11:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Trainman13

If anyone can help me out here I'd like to figure out how I could fix this very odd issue that I noticed with a Bachman 2-8-0 I purchased at the big e train show a few months back. (Also I just wanna give a heads up to anyone reading, I'm kind of new to HO stuff. So I apologize if I don't use the correct terminology for parts. I'm used to O gauge) anyways the  locomotive itself looks brand new and I wouldn't have suspected a thing with this locomotive. I took it home, went to a model club to see if I could find out if it was DCC or DCC ready. A club member and I found out it was DCC ready but needed a chip. So we stuck it on the track and switched the power to "DC" I gave it some power and all it did was make a weird noise. It was as if the motor was spinning but it wasn't catching on the wheels. So I gave it to the club member I was with and he took it apart and after finally removing the top part of the locomotive, he told me everything looked normal from there. But I couldn't been something internally. The wheels spun normally when rolled without the locomotive together. He even said that the bands or whatever the motor usually spins on looked fine. Should I send it in to Bachmann? I'm not sure what to do, the club member that helped me is the guy we go to for help with fixing locomotives or adding DCC. He told me that steam locomotives aren't his best fit when it comes to working on locos. So even he was stuck on why it wouldn't run. Thanks again in advance for any feedback or help given!  :D
Some say its a waste of time to drive 8 hrs once a month just to gain some more railroad knowledge and experience.....I believe it's a labor of joy and perseverance. One day it'll all come together. Keep movin' forward!

Trainman203