Tracks catalog with specifications

Started by Liviu, January 13, 2020, 02:39:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Liviu

Hello,

I am new to train modeling and I would like to know where I can find the specifications/dimensions for the Bachmann EZ Track system tracks. For example, for a track N 44852 what is the radius and length, for a turnout N 44863 #4 what do that mean, what are the lengths of the straight and curved parts, what is the radius, how is this different from a #6 turnout or from the N 44862 which has no number, and so on.
I also saw the N 44896 track pack. What are the codes of the items it contains (N numbers), to see how can I plan a layout?
There is some info here, but far from being complete. Is there a catalog or something for this? Of course, it will be better to also include e.g. for turnouts the min/max working voltage, and so on, what else may be useful.

Thank you for your help,
Liviu

jward

44852 IS 12.5"R X 30 degrees.

#4 and #6 refer to the angle of the frog where the rails cross. There is no radius on these switches because of the compound curve.

If you are planning a railroad, you'll find the degrees of the curve to be much more useful than the actual length of the track. But if you actually have to know, length  can be found by this formula:

radius x 2 x 3.14 divided by (360 / number of degrees)

Approximate angles for the #4 and #6 are 15 degrees and 10 degrees respectively.

Jeffery S Ward Sr
Pittsburgh, PA

Terry Toenges

In my case, I had to figure out the HO track dimensions by measuring the various pieces that I had. I compiled a list of dimensions of all the pieces. That's not helping you because you have "N" scale.
I got a program called "Anyrail" for designing layouts. They have the dimensions of individual track pieces.
Maybe someone else on here has an "N" scale list.
Feel like a Mogul.

Liviu

Quote from: Terry Toenges on January 13, 2020, 11:07:53 PM