News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Why is On30 Scale So Expensive?

Started by RailMan63, February 24, 2020, 02:56:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RailMan63

Hi,everybody. As you know I am new to the On30 segment of model railroading. I have been looking for cars to add to my 2 locomotives. The problem is that they are so expensive ,and also there's not all that much to choose from when it comes to road names. I do all my hobby shopping online on sites like Ebay,Amazon,TrainWorld, etc
DCC On30 Locomotives can be found for good prices, but the rolling stock to go with them is expensive.
Boxcars for $40.00 plus shipping.
Cabooses  for anywhere between $38.00 to over $50-$100.00,or more.
It's just ridiculous.
Even G Scale rolling stock often doesn't go for that much.Unless, of course, it's a rare,hard to find car.
I've never paid more that $50.00 for any G Scale car,passenger,or freight car (with one very rare and exceptional caboose,that is).
I've even managed to pick up Big Hauler 4-6-0 locomotives on Ebay within the last year for less than what most of these On30 cars sell for!
So, what's up with the high prices for On30?

Ton N

It's a simple case of availability and demand.
Most of the cars are not made any more and the demand is still there.
Coupled with a relative small market segment compared with H0 and N, prices go up.
When i started with 0n30 a boxcar cost $18.
I live in the Netherlands so i had to pay additional shipping costs and taxes.
But then it was still relatively cheap compared to brass models.
I just were lucky to start buying 0n30 in 2006 and have amassed an extensive collection 0n30.

Ton

RailMan63

Thanks,Ton. That makes a lot of sense.I can see that adding a few cars for these 2 little locos is going to be a rather expensive ordeal. Unless I find a steal on Ebay. Which does happen from time to time.