Does my loco have sound, and how do I control the doors with a PowerCab

Started by jeffHOtrainCO, July 04, 2020, 12:40:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jeffHOtrainCO

Hi, I am new to HO modeling and just picked up a number of trains, cars, buildings and so on with the intention of making my own HO DCC set in a spare bedroom.  While running the Bachmann Spectrum 83003 Amtrak Acela HHP-8 Locomotive w/ ESU LokPilot DCC that was part of the haul, and in doing further research, I realized that the passenger doors on this loco may open via a command from the NCE PowerCab DCC I have. Further, I was wondering if this particular loco has sound. So, question one I guess is does this loco has sound and if so why wouldn't my DCC be able to turn it on and second how do I get the doors to operate?  Thanks.

Trainman203

If you are new to model railroading and already have an NCE power cab, that is great, DCC makes everything run more realistically in every dimension.  If your engine is sound equipped the sound should come on just by setting the engine on the powered track.  You can toggle F8 to see if it got tripped somehow to silence the engine, or set cv 113 to 0 which will keep the sound on all the time.  If neither of these actions do anything and silence persists, either you don't have sound or something is wrong somewhere.

rich1998

Hi I have the Power Cab.
Check the Bachmann DCC page for the CV list with your Power Cab. LokSound should have the list. Sounds like you have a custom install.
You might do a decoder reset.
No idea about the decoder specs for this loco. You can Google the decoder name.

Rich

jeffHOtrainCO