Electrical Considerations with Figure 8 Track Layout

Started by Gary Allen, September 15, 2020, 05:39:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gary Allen

I am new to HO track.  It appears to me that, since the track rails are asymmetrical with respect to electrical power, a figure 8 layout might pose some restrictions.  If I call the 2 electrical conductors A and B, is it true that conductor A resides on the outboard rail on one half of the figure 8 and on the inboard rail on the other half?  If this is true, I assume I would not be able to connect the two halves of the figure 8 with two turnouts (switches), else I would create a short circuit.  I would have to create a double figure 8 using two crossing tracks and connect the two outer lobes of the dual figure 8 via turnouts?

jonathan

Your initial assessment is true.  You would be creating a 'reverse loop' on a figure 8, causing a short.  There are ways to electrically deal with a reverse loop.  However, if you are just starting out in HO, that may be a frustrating way to start out.

Your other description sounds like you are thinking about a 'double-track' figure 8.  This would require using 4 crossing pieces, but will remain electrically sound.  Then a 'crossover', using two turnouts, is a little easier, moving from an inner loop to an outer loop.

Another option is to keep a figure 8 on the inside, then lay an oval on the outside.  A single crossover from the inner to the outer loop will be relatively easy.  Two crossovers could create another reverse loop situation.

I hope that answers your questions. I hope I understood what information you were after.

Regards,

Jonathan

rich1998

Gary Allen

Post a diagram of what you would like to do.
You will need a photo hosting site to do that.
A photo is worth a thousand words.

Rich

Ken Huck

There is no reverse loop created in a figure eight.  The train continues to go in the
same direction.  It does not 'turn around', nor do the wheels switch 'sides'.

HTH

Ken