News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

electrically wired frogs

Started by richardm, October 08, 2020, 04:00:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

richardm

I just received two turnouts that the description states they have electrically wired frogs. Does that mean they are powered. If yes how do they handle the polarity change?

jonathan

It depends.  Are these Bachmann turnouts?  Many turnouts have the ability to have electrically wired frogs, but require the modeler to connect wiring to switch polarity.

Regards,

Jonathan

richardm

Both turnouts are Bachmann E-Z Command DCC models 44133 and 44131. The description about both of these turnouts is that the frogs are electrically wired.  However the instructions do not address that feature. I want to know what that statement means.

Thanks for responding.

Tom

Gary Allen

I'm new to this but I do have several turnouts including the 44131.  I'm guessing that the "frog" is that portion of the turnout that swivels back and forth to switch tracks.  I'm also guessing that "electrically wired" "frogs" means that they don't have to be manually switched back and forth.  There appears to be at least 2 types of electrically wired frogs: externally wired (via a switch and some wiring) and DCC controlled.  The 44131 is DCC controlled so no external wiring or switch required.  You should probably assign the turnout an address (1 - 9) and program it before first use.  Easy to do once connected to the track.  Program via DCC controller; instructions provided with turnout.  You don't have to do anything to the wiring within the turnout.

jward

Gary what you refer to are switch points. the Frog is the place where the rails cross, and it must be either insulated or electrically powered to switch polarity when the points are thrown.
Jeffery S Ward Sr
Pittsburgh, PA

Gary Allen