Newbie- Night Before Christmas G locomotive

Started by tsur1, December 01, 2020, 10:54:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tsur1

Hi all,

Just for reference I am a totally newbie when it comes to model trains- this was my first purchase and I know very little- sorry.
I purchased the Night Before Christmas Large G scale train last November. I ran it under my Christmas tree with what I thought pretty much no issues, although the problem I'm having this year did happen right out of the box.
The train runs sporadically and then will just stop. I have checked all the connections- made sure every piece of track is locked in and all connectors are secure.
If I hold the locomotive and barely touch the track the wheels turn fast and normal like it should. When I set it down, or start with it in its normal position it is very hard to run. And now this year it just won't stay running- maybe will go around 1-3 times then shuts off. I tried it alone with no cars/caboose and also with the cars and same issue. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Loco Bill Canelos

Hi,

From what you have posted so far it is hard to say what the problem is.  Can you say when the locomotive stops: Does the headlight stay on?  When the locomotive stops is there still power to the track, or does the power supply just shut down??  I ask this, because the power supply has an internal thermal circuit breaker and there have been cases where after the breaker shorts out frequently or overheats it gets weaker and weaker and eventually fails.   If the loco stops and will not run until til the breaker resets, then the problem is definitely the power supply.  The locomotive in the set rarely is the problem so other things must be ruled out.  If you have a way to use a different power supply/transformer try it and if the loco runs fine, you will know it is the power supply that is the problem.

Loco Bill
Loco Bill,  Roundhouse Foreman
Colorado & Kansas Railway-Missouri Western Railway