News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Upgrading from GP40

Started by cferrara, March 04, 2021, 05:24:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cferrara

Question / advice: I'm new to model trains and love it. I recently got an HO starter set (GP40 Rail Chief set) and it's a great starting point. However, like most train enthusiasts, I have a passion for upgrading and going to the next level w/ the set. The train runs fine, but I feel like it's underpowered. In addition to the speed factor, I would like to upgrade the power controller, so that has the essentials, like a power switch. However, with the current set, it's limited to a 16v DC controller and I don't want to do anything that will burn out the motor.

If I wanted to upgrade to a faster one with a more robust motor, could anyone recommend a locomotive that is a notch above the  GP40 loco? Thanks

jward

The DC controller you have is just fine voltage wise. You said your locomotive is underpowered. DO you have an upgrade on your layout? If so how steep is it? That will affect the pulling power of your set. If you are merely concerned about speed, the GP40 already runs faster than the real ones do. Do you expect your trains to run like slotcars? If that is what you're referring to your locomotive is definitely not underpowered. It just runs slower (and more realistically) than you want it to. I have several GP40s, and mine run well and pull a decent amount of cars on my upgrades. They perform as expected and are comparable with most of the others in my fleet. raising the voltage on the rails above what the motor is designed for will result in problems and void the warranty on the locomotive.
'
Jeffery S Ward Sr
Pittsburgh, PA

rich1998

Do you have sufficient voltage all over your layout? Check with your multi meter with a loco in each area where the loco seems to slow down.

Rich

cferrara