Bachmann American 4-4-0 tender disassembly?

Started by ChucklesMc, July 06, 2023, 04:45:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ChucklesMc

Just received the HO DCC Ready Bachmann American 4-4-0 Santa Fe - how does one open up the tender - folks at SoundTraxx recommended a decoder (Tsunami 2) with a cube speaker for installation into the tender.  The Bachmann schematic isn't that helpful (I'm a Newbie) pointing at what needs to be unscrewed, etc., to access the inners where the 8 pin connector is that I will have to remove.  Help!

trainman203

Every tender shell in the world is attached by screws. You just have to locate them and undo them.  Model railroading is a series of challenges. Not everything is snap together.

But. If you are having trouble getting the tender shell off, I suspect that installation of the tsunami 2–2 decoder and speaker are going to be even further beyond your abilities of the moment. Despite the oft repeated mantra that there's an eight pin plug, and that's all you have to do, there's a good bit more to a decoder install than just plugging the decoder in.

To avoid frustration and heartache, I very highly recommend that you locate a professional tech to do this installation for you. They are dozens of them, find them by asking Mr. Google.

There's work that I despise doing that I pay other people to do.  One is mowing the lawn, another is decoder installation. I'd much rather be running an engine with properly installed sound than spending all day trying to figure out which wire is which, and poking the soldering iron through the tender shell while I'm at it.  Professional decoder installation, to me, is well worth the $100 or so labor cost. You send the engine and $100 off, and get it back running right with the sound sounding right.