News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Thinking of getting a 2-8-4 berkshire

Started by Saberhawk30, August 06, 2023, 02:06:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Saberhawk30

Hello all...new to the forum.  Everyone...how well do the berks run on 18inch curves?  I have a rivarossi berk the runs just fine. I'm new to dcc and love it and would like to add  one....I just wish I came with a mars light.

Thanks Erick

Len

Bachmann recommends 22" radius curves for it's Berks. The Rivarossi Berk has a narrower chassis, allowing more play for the driver axles to slide back and forth. This is to allow it to operate on the tigher curves generally found on European layouts, even though the overhang looks rediculous.

Len
If at first you don't succeed, throw it in the spare parts box.

ModelRailwayFan38

I don't own one, but Sam'sTrains on YouTube has one, and in his video it works on 18 inch radius (technically second radius which is the same thing).

trainman203

If I remember right, and someone correct me if I'm wrong, the Mars light on the Nickel Plate Berks was red. Which means that it was only turned on when running in reverse as a pushing helper to protect a train at the rear, not being operated when at the head of a train pulling it.  Or when running light (no additional cars, just the engine by itself) in reverse by itself.  And I'm not certain if that red light oscillated like a true mars light. Someone more familiar with this, please log in.

The twin-sealed-beam light fixture above the headlight on the lesser known and at one time more famous CB&Q 4-8-4's was a forward running clear oscillating warning light, as was the upper light on the Southern Pacific GS class 4-8-4's.

Mars lights weren't that common on steam engines and appear to be a very late steam affectation brought on by diesels, many of which had built-in Mars lights and ran with their headlights on in the daytime, which was almost never done in steam times.