Bachmann Union Pacific 866 Engine Not Working

Started by MOP, September 03, 2023, 10:47:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MOP

Hi Everyone,

I found an old Bachmann train set from 1979 that was a gift from my father. It was missing the speed controller so I bought a used speed controller from eBay but I am not sure it's similar to the original controller. I tried to run the engine with it and it came alive for few seconds with some lights and noise but nothing since then. I have tried to use a voltage tester and there seems to be current coming to the track but I don't know exactly how much. I tried to open the engine but there are light wires attached to the ceiling so I can't remove the cover. I tried to clean the tracks and engine tires but no luck.

I am an absolute novice and don't know what else I can do. The biggest problem is figuring out if it's the speed controller issue, engine malfunction or connector problem.

Looking for some guidance. Thank you in advance for any help.

P.S. Please see attached photos of engine, speed controller and the connector.

trainman203

The only way to find out what is wrong is the scientific laboratory way, i.e to isolate and test each component independently somewhere else in some other environment that is known to work.  In other words, try running the engine on some other layout that is known to work properly. If the engine works fine there, then you know that the problem is the power source (I don't know where the word controller comes from but it's not the right word for an AC or DC model railroad power source). If it doesn't run, you know the problem is the engine.  If it runs, you know it's the power source.

The voltage tester should be telling you how much and what kind of power is on the track, if it's a true meter .  Re-read the instructions if needed.  Meters vary in the ranges they can test.  You may be using one meant for much more powerful current than the ones Model Railroads run on.