News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Installing DCC

Started by Muggzy, December 25, 2023, 11:38:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Muggzy

I'm new to this so bare with me.I have a bachman emd gp40 ho scale loco, and I want to add DCC with sound.Ihave a digitrax control system.Is there a dcc replacement decoder for this or do I have to use a special decoder? Please help.

Fred Klein

Muggzy, Since I do not model in HO, I'm not familiar with your particular locomotive, but since I model in On30 and my DCC system is from Digitrax, I'm very familiar with Bachman/Digitrax combinations. First of all, just so you know, since DCC is a standard created by the National Model Railroad Association (NMRA), as long as a manufacturer's decoder adheres to those standards, it will work with your setup. Therefore, you are not limited to using only Digitrax decoders.

From your questions, I think what you are asking is whether or not Bachmann makes a specific decoder for your locomotive. Since I'm not familiar with your engine, I don't have the answer to that but perhaps someone else can chime in on this with more information. However, one thing I do know is that Digitrax has an excellent decoder selection tool on their website. You plug some information such as manufacturer, model, etc. in and it will list some suggestions of what would work in your locomotive. I'm assuming that other DCC manufacturers have similar tools but I would try Digitrax's first. If nothing else, it will provide you with a starting point. Hope this helps.
Fred Klein
Okeechobee, FL

jward