News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Passenger Rail Cars

Started by RedMt Dave, January 14, 2024, 03:55:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RedMt Dave

I'm new to the HO size train systems. I'm designing a two track layout with all of my curves using 18"/30 deg Bachmann E-Z track.
I plan on having both freight and passenger trains.
My question is will I have any issues with longer passenger cars, like the Rapido Budd Baggage-Dorm or similar?

jward

Yes, you will have trouble with longer passenger cars on 18" radius. Especially with a brand that's as close to scale as Rapido. It "may" be possible to run them on 24" radius, but even that's pushing things.

This brings up a common newbie misconception. You cannot run whatever you want on the track that comes in the train sets, let alone the even sharper 15" radius curves. Larger cars and locomotives require larger radius curves. Not only will they look better, they also will not run into the physical limitations inherent in smaller radii. One of the biggest of these is coupler swing. Another is truck swing. These two items can only pivot so far. Exceed those limitations and things come off the rails. If you want to use those 18" radius curves, stick with smaller steam, 4 axle diesels, and cars shorter than 50 feet in length.
Jeffery S Ward Sr
Pittsburgh, PA

RedMt Dave

Len

There's a prototype for everything. The Richmond, Fredericksburg, and Potomac Railroad ran some 72ft passenger cars. So you could use some more or less modern 72ft passenger cars and say your railroad purchased used from the RF&P.

Len
If at first you don't succeed, throw it in the spare parts box.

Tenwheeler01