News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

First HO layout since I was 13

Started by prebres, January 06, 2008, 09:08:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

prebres

Folks,
Here are some pics of the first layout I've done since I was 13. I'm 39 now. Had a Lionel running under the Christmas tree, but this is the first actual layout. It's 4' x 8' (for now) Two loops, out loop has passing siding. It's DCC. And I know that the Chessie and SF would never run together, but I'm just getting started. Any comments are welcome. I'm very intertested in how to model realistic asphalt streets. Again, thanks for looking!

Terry Toenges

Looks neat. I like your "layout level" pics.
Feel like a Mogul.

SteamGene

Great start.  I agree with Terry.  The eye level shots are a great idea.
Gene
Chief Brass Hat
Virginia Tidewater and Piedmont Railroad
"Only coal fired steam locomotives"

Paul M.

Looks like a great start. Walthers sells a plastic interlocking strret system that seems to look pretty good. OTOH, you couls use Sculptamold (a Paper-Mache product) to make roads, and at $6 for a 3lb bag, you'll probably get more bang for the buck, but it'll be more work than the Walthers roads.

-Paul
[
www.youtube.com/texaspacific

kevin2083

I use drywall joint compound, sanded then painted black. For stripes I use model airplane striping, 1/16" wide.
______
|_____|
0|||||0   
||'-#'||

SteamGene

Watch black.  Asphalt might best be rendered with oily black.  In addition, what is the era?  Highway markings in 1957 don't match 2007 markings.
Gene
Chief Brass Hat

PatMatDec

Ahhh, the roadside inn is a classic. Are there any apartments available? It looks like a great little town. Nice work.
CEO
Nantasket Beach Railroad

SteamGene