News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

DCC conversion Dept56 loco

Started by pechristenson, February 12, 2024, 02:07:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pechristenson

I have a circa 1998 - 2006 department 56 steam loco, can it be converted to DCC?

Hoping someone can tell me if it's a hopeless case or does it have a chance to make back on the track.

I'm a rookie, so please, take it easy on me 😎

A little history: I had this under the tree in the early 2000s when the guys were young, I now, have a grandchild and looking to step it up a bit with DCC and all that comes with it; steam, sound, lighting, more.

Appreciate your time...

You cannot view this attachment.You cannot view this attachment.You cannot view this attachment.   
What has gone wrong, with my eyes...

Terry Toenges

Just my opinion but you might be better off with a new loco than you can switch shells with. I bought a new PRR Mogul from Trainworld for $109. It is DCC and sound ready meaning it already has a speaker in the tender. You just need the sound module. For what it will cost you to get all the stuff you need to convert your old one like decoder, speaker, etc. it might be worth it.
Feel like a Mogul.

Fred Klein