News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

New train isn't working

Started by CampIdaho, March 22, 2024, 10:57:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CampIdaho

I am brand new to model trains.  I received a Durango Silverton set today and set it up.  The train ran about 2 feet and quit.  I cleaned the track, checked all the connections and tried again.  Now the train will only move about a quarter of an inch, forward and reverse.  The headlight comes on.  Any ideas of what to try next?  Thank you.

trainman203

The locomotive comes with that set is the consolidation.  Bachmann makes beautiful steam locomotive models, but for some reason, the choice of alloy for the driver tires and the tender wheels is one that oxidizes fairly rapidly and heavily.

Translation:  Your locomotive and tender wheels are probably incredibly dirty.  Train sets can sit in a warehouse for years before they are sold, as well as individual locomotives.  I have at least 30 Bachmann steam locomotives and every one of them has needed heavy wheel cleaning treatment upon purchase.

To clean the drivers, place a paper towel moistened with isopropyl alcohol across both rails.  Place the locomotive on the rails covered by the paper towel and the tender on the track behind the paper towel and apply full power.  The wheels should spin rapidly.  If not, jiggle both back-and-forth until contact is made and the wheels spin.  Apply only the very lightest pressure to the engine that still allows the wheels to spin rapidly and push gently side to side to clean the entire surface, and be amazed at all the black crud comes off of your wheels.  You may have to do this a couple of times on successively clean surfaces of towel to get it all off.  Then, place the towel behind the tender and roll it back-and-forth gently pressing down and gently pushing side to side to clean as well. They will be equally as oxidized certainly.