News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

I'm New to Model Trains

Started by DMC, January 16, 2008, 10:03:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DMC

I just received my first train for X-Mas. It's a Pennsylvanian (set) #90026. I have been reading Model R-R and Garden R-R to get some idea of what is going on. I still have ?'s and no answers. First Is Garden R-R and Large Scale the same? 2nd What guage is the track? Is it in inches or is it metric? Narrow or std. guage? 3rd What is the Radius for this train set? Any and all help will be appreciated .DMC

zubi

DMC, Congratulations and wellcome to the exciting world of large scale trains! My first large scale set was also Pennsy Bachmann but this was about 15years ago so it was not the same one I guess. As for your questions, yes, garden RR and Large Scale RR are essentially the same concept as most if not all large scale trains can be used outdoors, and most trains used outdoors are large scale. The actual numerical scale used varies from about 1:13 to 1:32 although even this this is not a fixed range. The set you have is in 1:22.5 scale, which is still the most popular scale used internationally. A lot of recently released Bachmann products is in a slightly larger 1:20.3 scale though. The track is 45mm gauge and represents narrow gauge. The radius of the track supplied with your set is 1200mm but if you buy rails from other makers than Bachmann you can buy other, larger radius curves - our train will run better on them if you have space for that. One word of caution, the rails you have in the set are not meant for the garden!! They will rust. If you want to set up a permanent garden railroad, you need to get rails from another maker, brass, aluminium, nickel silver or stainless steel. There is a lot of choice. Good luck and best wishes from Tokyo ,Zubi

altterrain

Welcome D,