News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

K-27 Counterweights

Started by JLyans, January 24, 2008, 02:01:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JLyans

QuoteDear All,
As reported here, some (many? all?) K-27s have loose counterweights that can bind from time to time. Dave Goodson has examined the locos and made a suggestion, which has been independently corroborated by a couple of other Large Scalers.
We have been in contact with China, and shim sets are being prepared. A call to the service department will get you a set. I'll post here when they arrive; please hold your calls until then.

Bach Man,
Wow, I had hoped for something better than that. I don't think that this is the best solution.  I am a relatively experienced modeler and this is a task that is not for the faint of heart.  I have placed brass shims in four counterweights so far and they have varied from .004" on the drive axle to just under .008" on the fourth axle. They don't go on real easy and some of the axle ends have to be filed down a little.  Also, a lot of people are going to end up with those little plastic retainers broken.  The thicknesses of the needed shims vary some from model to model which will make for a difficult fix unless a variety of shim thicknesses are provided.  There are a lot of folks that won't mind taking this on but I don't think the majority of your customers are going to want to be filing away on the axles.

I think a better, but admittedly more costly solution would be to make up new counterweights with the correct fit at the axle and a little bit thicker so that the axles wouldn't have to be filed. I wouldn't even mind paying for better fitting counterweights.

Sorry to make this observation because this is a beautiful model, perhaps the nicest looking 1:20.3 model I have ever seen.

Thank you.
John

glennk28

Pardon the double post on this--but I didn't realize this thread had started.