News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Help finding right locomotive

Started by Beatthe9ers, January 29, 2008, 10:54:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Beatthe9ers

I'm a novice at this, I got a Bachmann set a couple of years ago as a Christmas present to run around the tree.  I have a couple young kids and thought it would be fun.  It is.  This year I got a few freight cars as gifts and my interest is officially sparked.  One piece in particular has me interested.

I got a Branchline brand freight car, part of their Blueprint ACF Wood Reefer series.  I really like the 1920's Era Billboard URTX Cars (http://www.branchline-trains.com/blueprint/reefers/urtx_reefers.htm).

So what I would like to do is get a bunch of these billboard freight cars to eventually run in some kind of layout.  I'm not usually a stickler for historical accuracy, but in this case I would like to get a locomotive that might have actually pulled these types of freight cars in the late 20's, early 30's.

I've been looking on the web but seem to be running in circles.  I'm finding it difficult to match up rail lines that utilized these cars and then find out what type of locomotives they used at the same time.  It certainly isn't helping that I don't really speak the language at all (again, I am a novice).

Can anyone point me in the right direction or just throw out a suggestion of a locomotive that might be accurate for that time period and these cars?

Thanks in advance.

Conrail Quality

I've never claimed to be an expert on steam locomotives (electric locomotives are my domain), but if I'm not mistaken, Bachmann's 2-8-0 would be a reasonable locomotive for this.

-Timothy
-Conrail Quality
Timothy

Still waiting for an E33 in N-scale

TonyD