News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Specific DCC question

Started by Beatthe9ers, February 08, 2008, 10:46:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Beatthe9ers

I'm trying to learn some of this stuff before I jump in.  I have no experience with DCC and very, very little experience with model trains at all.

I do not have a DCC system yet but am looking at the Digitraxx Zephyr.  I am also looking at a diesel loco to start off with.  Specifically, I have my eye on the HO BLI Blueline RSD-15 Duluth, Missabe and Iron Range diesel with sound and DCC ready (product number BLI-5094).  I assume the DCC ready means I will need to buy and install a decoder.

My preference would be to have the loco DCC equipped, but I can not seem to find a DM&IR model that is DCC equipped without a huge increase in price (the Blueline lists for $170 and I have found it for $130).

So the questions I have are...

1) I know for that price the sound is probably not that great, I am fine with that.  Will the sound work without a decoder?  How would that happen?

2) I assume when a loco is listed as DCC Ready it means I won't have to fiddle with wires and such, I will be able to just sort of plug something in?  Is that too simplistic?  I also assume I will need a decoder that can control sound.  How much will that cost (generally) and will I be able to install myself with my novice status?

I intend to post many other questions here.  I have been reading the forums and am very impressed with the quick and excellent responses.  Thanks in advance.

Yampa Bob

Hi 9ers
As you learned in your post on track, you will not get simple answers here.  So many modelers, all with different preferences.  That's good as you will get a lot of information, although some may not be totally accurate.  We are all learning.

The Bachmann EZ command is only 80 bucks and will give you some experience at first.