News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

New to American Railroad Modelling

Started by LMSR, February 27, 2008, 06:08:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

LMSR

Hi guys!
I’m Tony, I live in England and I am new to American Model railroads â€" but have been dabbling with the British stuff for many years.
Is there a definitive listing anywhere of Bachmann E-Z track showing all available sizes and radii?
I have purchased enough nickel silver track (26” radius curves) to make a fairly large oval on which to run my 4-8-4 Niagara and coaching stock (the largest available British sectional track curves are approx 22½” radius). Now I’ve been bitten by the bug, I’m looking to add a second track with another loco hauling a freight consist but I’m not sure which is the “next size up” from 26” radius.

Also â€" on an historical note â€" The period I’ve chosen is obviously late forties and fifties, looking at the wealth of freight stock to choose from, how can I be sure that the freight stock I buy is contemporary with my chosen modelling period? Any good tips and pointers gratefully received.

Tony.
Tony Steel - Railway Enthusiast

Guilford Guy

Any "PS-1" or 40ft freight car which wears a reddish brown color. Any New York Central Steamer larger than a 4-6-2/2-8-0. Any New York Central diesel which wears the lightning strip scheme. Any flatcar, shorter than 50ft with a wood plank deck. Most Hopper Cars with only 2 "bays(chutes on the bottom for unloading the raw materials they carried)."
Alex

Atlantic Central

Tony,

Welcome. I hope you are ready to be over whelmed with info, because you will likely receive lots of it on here.

I don't know how much you know about North American railroads, so I will start with some basics and keep them in the time period you mentioned. Some of this may seem very basic, but things are/where different here so I just want to give you a good foundation.