News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Bachmann vs. Competition

Started by gsjcas, February 28, 2008, 09:12:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gsjcas

Here is a good one for all you Professional Modelers out there......I am relatively new to all of this....I have built an empire and am having a ball... I am in the Northeastern part of the country, and Bachmann is not rated Highly in some of the dealers(N Scale) around here.....Now let me set the record straight.......I really like them, (Bachmann)....I have bought their products, also dealt with their management team at the home office, They are great and have treated me very well. I HAVE NO COMPLAINT WITH THIS MANUFACTURER, OR THEIR PRODUCTS. Why do dealers push Kato, Lifelike, virtually most others over Bachmann..???? I don't get it........I think their stuff is great.....Anyone care to jump on this one..?????
How about The Bachmann.....Looking forward to anyone's comments.....

A Newbie.....and Grateful Bachmann customer.....Trainman

Franz T

In the past, Bachmann was notorious for poor quality and worse quality control. To be sure, LifeLike (now Walthers) wasn't much better. An improvement of great magnitude took place about 10-15 years ago; around the time Atlas had Kato make their diesels for them. Current production Bachmann Spectrum is right up there in quality. The Standard line is slowly catching up. Since you are new, please keep in mind that most locomotives made 15-20 years ago can be described in two words: mostly junk. So avoid ebay with their "Rare" "Vintage" stuff. To learn about N-scale engines, try this website: http://www.visi.com/~spookshow/locos.html
HTH
Franz T

southern pacific