Main Menu

Re 4-6-2 Rivarossi Southern

Started by raymondo, March 02, 2008, 12:45:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

raymondo

Hi there all
Another American Model Railroader from the U/K nothing in particular
though,
Just purchased a 4-6-2 Rivarossi Southern off that great auction site.
It runs purfect on one circuit but will not cross from one circuit to another
just stops I see the pick ups are on the tender any ideas.

Many Thanks Raymondo

ta152h0

tell us more. long distance diagniosis is very difficult and usually wrong without more info. IIs the track DCC ? Put alligator clips on the leads from the transformer and touch the wheels. Does the locomotive run in both directions ?

raymondo

Hi ta152HO. Thanks
Im new to any forum so here we go.

Loco Running on DC.
Runs perfect For/Rev on one oval of track will not cross over to another oval
or new circuit .
Ps recentlly purchased 5 New Bachmann Steam Locos no problems.
Thanks Raymond.

GN.2-6-8-0

Almost sounds like you have a reverse loop setup...is this possible?
Rocky Lives

raymondo

Hi
its not a reverse loop set up,
I have 4 Main line  ovals divided by insulated joners also at least  20
Diesel/Steam loco that are no trouble.
This loco stops across the double crossvers  i can only see pick ups on
tender. I just cant think what it may Be. . loco bought As new.

Guilford Guy

If its an old model there may onluy be pick ups on one side. Thus the loco pick ups are only on the right hand drivers, and the tenders are only on the left. Therefor when it crosses over, there is only 1 pick up, so no power to the motor... That's my only thought. My 4-8-2 is similar having pick ups on the right hand drivers, and tender pickups on the left hand wheels.
Alex

raymondo

Hi Guilford Guy. Thanks.
I think you are right all i can see are two plungers onto the Drivers
No Wires to motor .
The Power seems to come from the tender through the metal coupling
bar for tender i expect its more pick ups off the engine.