News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Track Cleaning

Started by tom, March 16, 2008, 09:45:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

tom

I am new to large scale and would appreciate advice on cleaning Bachmann large scale track.  On my HO scale road I use Maas polish when I put the lines around the Christmas tree.  I then use a t\track cleaning car using 91% alcohol.  I tried the same procedure on my large scale track with far less desirable results.

Thanks in advance,

tom

Greg Elmassian

Just checking: are you using the Bachmann steel track (you can check with a magnet).

Indoors or outdoors?

Regards, Greg
Visit my site: lots of tips and techniques: http://www.elmassian.com

tom

It is steel track, the magnet raises the track up when placed on a rail.  It is only used indoors.

tom

Mark Oles

I don't know how well it will work on Bachmann track, but try using LGB Smoke Fluid and some 800 grit wet sand paper.  I used that on my really nasty brass track and it cleaned it up no problem, and the sand paper didn't scratch the rail surface. 

I do not know if all smoke fluids work the same.  The LGB stuff really works well and does not leave a residue on the track.

Mark

tom

Greg Elmassian

Tom, I don't know the humidity where your layout is, but I would strongly encourage the use of something to inhibit rusting.

This might be wiping the rails down with a rag with wd40 on it, or possibly a track cleaning car that had some kind of light oil on it.

Of course you don't want to make the rails slippery, but the raw steel WILL rust, especially if you use something abrasive to clean the rail tops.

Wahl clipper oil has been a favorite of many smaller scales, and it's more of a light solvent that leaves a protective film. It's available on the net for reasonable prices.

Regards, Greg
Visit my site: lots of tips and techniques: http://www.elmassian.com

Mark Oles

Tom,