News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Decapod Decoder Installation

Started by monhegan, March 21, 2008, 09:34:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

monhegan

Hi All,

I've just searched this message board and read all I could find regarding decoder installation on the DCC-ready Russian Decapod.

Here's the problem. I'm new to DCC, but successfully installed a half dozen Digitrax decoders in DCC-ready Spectrum steam locomotives this week.

However, when it came to the Decapods, my installation of the Digitrax DH123P or DH123PS (short cable) resulted in nothing; no power or signal at all seems to be getting through. I tried two different Decapods, bought at different places and at different times. They are both unlettered versions, which means that several of the parts, including the boiler front are not installed from the factory. Granted, I didn't install these parts prior to attempting to run the engine, but I don't see any electrical connections that involve the boiler front.

Reading other posts, I hear talk of cutting capacitors, etc. What am I missing here? Something is making these two engines different than the other DCC-ready units for which I've successfully installed decoders (4-8-2, 4-6-0, 2-8-2--all unlettered versions).

Thanks for any help.

Bradley Hendershot
Perkiomen Valley Railroad

kevin2083

Although I'm not familiar with the insides of the decapod, the capacitors you would want to cut are C1 and C2. They are yellow and should be labeled on the PCB. The problem you're describing doesn't sound like a capacitor problem though. The first thing that comes to my mind is that the plug has been put in backwards.

Hope you get them running soon
Kevin
______
|_____|
0|||||0   
||'-#'||

monhegan

Well, I'm replying to my own post; I wish I could retract my original query to the group.