News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Heavy 4-8-2 problem

Started by jomazz, April 05, 2008, 07:09:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jomazz

I have a spectrum 4-8-2 in which I installed a Bachmann decoder. All was well for a few days. Then one day I tried to run it and got no response. Tried a different address and, it ran. It switched its address by itself. Then I tried to reprogram it back to the original address, no go. Next day I tried again and it worked. Today I tried to run it again and, it just sat there humming. Then it gradually started moving but, it does not respond well to the throttle and has no high speed at all. I checked the tender and decoder connections but, everything looks ok. I'm new to dcc. but, will an engine change its address all by itself? I have 5 other Bachmann engines and they all run fine. I'd appreciate any help with this. P.S.: It switched its address twice.

mattallen37

you should be able to send the decoder in to bachmann as a defect and they should send you a new one. :)

Matt

ta152h0

Are you the only person with access to your setup ?? Something similar happened today on mine when a little kid started pushing buttons and the beast ( 2-10-2 ) went into programming mode scrambling the address code.

jomazz

I'm the only one who operates the trains. Just my wife and myself here. Matt, is it common for a decoder to be defective?

r.cprmier

My two cents worth;
Not as much as before.   It isn't common for a decoder to be defective; if it were, they wouldn't be as popular as they are.  By that admission, it doesn't rule it out, either.