new railline installation and startup

Started by swc453, March 29, 2008, 08:54:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

swc453

A brother in law and his 3 year old adopted [severly abused ] grandson received a train set for christmas.  The brother in law has problems with changing light bulbs, so anything electrical????

I agreed to help as I have some electrical experience.  but not with guessing or maybees,  the instructions and prints leave much to be desired.

Involved is an E Z Command controller item 44901,  a bunch of Atlas track, switch stations, ect .  There is no clear diagram how to connect all this.

I did get the controller to put out up to almost 15 volts when on station 10, but the train would not respond.  The instructions indicated a preprogramed operation on station 3 as a factory default.  This station 3 would not put out any voltage at any setting of the speed control knob.

Thereare no indications to what to do,even  though the 8 page instruction is entitled SETUP AND PROGRAMMING INSTRUCTIONS.

Any help would be appreciated
SWC

SteamGene

The first question would be:
does the locomotive have a DCC decoder.  I'm thinking it does not.  If that be correct, that is your problem.
Gene
Chief Brass Hat
Virginia Tidewater and Piedmont Railroad
"Only coal fired steam locomotives"

Guilford Guy

The EZ command only changes the tracks voltage for adress 10. 10 is used for analog locomotives. The other addresses are to select different locomotives which have a decoder installed. The EZ command tells the decoder in the locomotive what to do, not giving out voltage separately.
Alex

swc453

The locomotive is DCC

So what tells the DCC locomotive what to do, and if it is programable how is it programed.

The track is ATLAS , the layout is Layout HO 8 .  They show a different controller figuration in this ATLAS book #9 for HO scale.

Could anyone tell me where to install the E Z Controller and will the Items shown in the ATLAS book also be required
Spencer