News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Formula for HO Scale

Started by filmtrain, April 01, 2008, 05:44:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

filmtrain

Hey Folks

Excuse me for being math challenged but is there a simple formula for making measurements in HO scale?

For instance if my sidewalk is 3 feet wide outside my house and I want to model it in HO, how do I figure out how wide it should be?  Thank you for the help.  Remember math challenged so it needs to be easy which I am sure it.  Math is why I majored in media, not engineering. :)

Conrail Quality

First, convert it into inches by multipling it by twelve (you could leave it as feet, but you will get a much messier answer). Then, divide by 87 (HO scale is 87 times smaller than the real thing). That will come out to about 0.414 inches in HO scale.

Timothy
Timothy

Still waiting for an E33 in N-scale

SteamGene

The EASIEST thing to do is to buy a ruler marked off in HO scale feet and you just measure 3 HO scale feet with it.  But HO is essentially 1:87, so for your three foot side walk, divide 3 by 87 to get .41 inches, or a bit less than 1/2 inch wide.  
Gene
Chief Brass Hat
Virginia Tidewater and Piedmont Railroad
"Only coal fired steam locomotives"

Yampa Bob

As explained, linear measurements such as length or width are pretty straight forward, just use the factor of 87. 

For other units of measurement, such as volume and weight, it becomes a "cubic" function.  For example, a 100 ton car will weigh only 4.86 ounces in HO scale.

The formula:  100 ton X 2000 lbs X 16 ounces divided by (87X87X87)= 4.86 ounces.

Here is an excellent page for "Scale and Gauge Definitions".
http://www.spec2000.net/rr_site_pages/rr_scale_dfn.htm

(Turn your volume down if the kids are asleep)

Bob
I know what I wrote, I don't need a quote
Rule Number One: It's Our Railroad.  Rule Number Two: Refer to Rule Number One.

TonyD