Bachmann EZ-Command DCC System and Atlas DCC Engines

Started by BradKT, May 21, 2008, 12:52:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BradKT

I have 3 Atlas DCC engines with factory-installed DCC decoders (I double-checked that both before and after I bought them) and when I put them on the track, they only operated on "0" and not "3".  I don't seem to be able to reprogram them to work on any other number.  In other words, they are operating as DC engines right now.  I want to be able to program to operate on different number codes other than the analogue code ("0").  Is that possible with Atlas DCC engines?

Any suggestions?

Yampa Bob

Brad

I have no experience with Atlas locomotives, only Bachmann, MRC and Roundhouse. All these worked on DC and on DCC default address 3.

Are you absolutely sure they are DCC equipped?  From the symptoms it sounds as though they are only DCC ready.  If so, they would operate on DC and on address "0" on your DCC controller exactly as you described. If that's the case, don't let the loco stand idle on DCC power or it may overheat.

I don't know for sure, but someone mentioned that some DCC locos, notably Athearn and possibly Atlas, required either installing or removing a jumper for compatible operation.  The problem is, the factories don't include any instructions with their locomotives, usually just a diagram and warranty notice.

We recently bought a $39 coffee maker, it came with a full pictorial instruction book, in 3 languages no less.  Can't we expect the same for a $100 or more locomotive?

The only way to know for sure if the decoder is in fact installed is to remove the tender shell.  Have you done that?

Sorry I'm not much help, but the symptoms are a bit puzzling.  I've never had a problem such as those being posted in the forum, just take them out of the box and run them.  Guess I've been lucky so far.  :D