4-6-0 Sierra Railway No. 3, the "Hooterville Cannonball"

Started by DMC-4-6-0, May 29, 2008, 05:37:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DMC-4-6-0

I want to build a replica of the 4-6-0 Sierra Railway No. 3, which was the "Hooterville Cannonball" that also pushed the Delorean Time Machine In back to the Future III . I own a Delorean and have always loved that train now I have a 1/32 rail version of the Delorean that needs a train to push it. So any help finding the parts to build the train  would be of help

Cameron Dingler DMC-4-6-0

PS yes Im a Noob  but I can build stuff (USAF Ret Jet Mechanic) I just need help with the engine details ;D
I do not "GET LOST IN TIME" -
I "INVESTIGATE ALTERNATIVE DESTINATIONS."

"Sometimes you have to role a hard six"

DMC-4-6-0

Ok after looking around all night/ morning it looks like there are several
2-6-0's that could be converted using a good imagination
here is the old girl Im want ing to model

Mark Oles

Cameron,

I have a friend who is also a Hooterville Cannonball fan, and we discuss this from time to time. 

Your easy options are to either use an anniversary 4-6-0, and accept that the driver spacing is not the same or you could start with the Centennial 2-6-0 which has a closer driver spacing.

If you cobbled together an anniversary boiler with a Centennial 2-6-0 chassis, and added a four wheel lead truck, you might be pretty close.  The Big Hauler boiler is a wagon top type, like the Sierra #3.  Domes are different, but not that difficult.  You might want to do a search for David Fletcher and see some of his Masterclass articles about making some of these parts. 

For the Sierra coach, check out the Hartland Shorty coaches.  They appear to be just about the right proportion.

Good luck!

Mark

DMC-4-6-0